The Dash Student Ministries

Rain

11/29/2010

0 Comments

 
"Rain down, rain down, rain down, let Your glory rain down."


How many times do we pray for God to rain on us? We frequently hear about how it rains on the just and the unjust, but I've always taken the "rain" in this scripture as a negative thing.

Think about looking at each individual as a plant. Each seed is planted, watered, and nurtured until it grows into something incredible, and useful. Just like the plants receive rain and nourishment, so do the thorns. In this context, the rain that falls on the just and the unjust is a great thing---rain is what keeps us alive. Rain fills the void in us, and quenches our thirst.


Have you ever found yourself in the midst of God's presence, but yet feeling so far from Him? So surrounded by His glory. Watching the rain fall on those around you, but never having your thirst quenched? As I thought about this the other day, I pictured a massive storm.


It felt like I had found the presence of God, but was never fully consumed by it. I was in the eye of the storm


So many of us are afraid of storms, afraid to be consumed by something so powerful and mighty. We look at hurricane Katrina, and see how destructive just that one storm was to the earth.
But I now believe that God doesn't want us to stand in the eye any more. It is always hard to step out of our comfort zone into another realm that we've never experienced. We become so accustomed to being surrounded, but not consumed.


What if I took that step of faith? What if I stepped out and let myself become consumed, all of my desires and pre-conceived notions being destroyed? Letting only God fill me, surround me, and transform me?





Leave a Reply.